I Thought Breaking Up Would Be Hard To Do…

3-meses-sem-facebook

But I did it.

After being a member  for nearly 10 years, (wait, maybe it was actually a whole 10 years) I finally broke up with Facebook. I started getting the idea to log off late last year but I could never bring myself to do it. Then my sister, the one who is OBSESSED with Facebook, deactivated her account. I thought Hell, if she can do it I KNOW I CAN! Then, one night last week or 2 weeks ago, my husband started talking about deactivating his account and by the end of our conversation we both ended our relationships with the devil Facebook. All it took was a few clicks and the abusive relationship was over.

It has been about a week or 2 or so… I don’t know for sure because I am not counting… and I feel sooooooo much better. I realize now that Facebook is so TOXIC. There is just an overwhelming amount of people with their drama and negativity staring you in the face all day every day. I unfollowed the most toxic people a while ago but I learned that it’s impossible to avoid the daily onslaught of violent videos, ignorant political commentary, obscene language, and the godforsaken grammar and spelling errors found in the status updates of too many grown folks. I try not to judge but Im an English teacher. LOL

My sisters and I have this sister chat thing going so I kept FB Messenger for that purpose but outside of that you can’t find me even if you search for me and THAT is true freedom.

I used to find myself waking up going right to my news feed… no matter if I woke up at 2am, 5am, or 8am. I was logging in to FB without even thanking God for being alive that morning. Hell, If Im honest, I used to be on FB while in the shower… just reading status messages and scrolling aimlessly. It was just really addictive.

I think if more people were honest about it they would agree that Facebook is REALLY ADDICTIVE. Its crazy. And outside of my mandatory cup of coffee, I don’t want to struggle with an addiction to anything.

So… I quit.

I haven’t considered returning. I don’t know if I will ever return. Right now I don’t see the point. I have so much going on in my life that I want to give my attention to so right now FB just doesn’t make the cut.

2017 is going well so far… outside of the whole Trump thing *insert eye roll here*… and I am sure it will continue moving in the right direction as long as I am focused. And I am.

Breaking up wasn’t so hard after all.

Leave a Reply

