Legacy…

Ever just sat and thought about what the future holds? As a parent, this thought frequents my mind often. Although there are some people who live for the day to day hustle and bustle of life, I genuinely look forward to the future. I am confident that every day of my life will not be like my present life… not that my life right now is too far off from amazing, but I know that the hard work I have put in will soon pay off and the results will be AMAZING.

I wake up every day in my own place next to my husband knowing my children are sound asleep in their bedroom…

Or at the foot of our bed…

Or somehow wedged between our two bodies… 0_o

I relish the time I have with my little ones as actual little ones… at 6 and 7, they are totally obsessed with my husband and I (mainly ME because I’m just a taaaad bit more awesome lol) and I love it.

I know there will be a time when they are old enough to know that mommy and daddy didn’t part the red sea, walk on the moon, or create glitter and then we’ll be dealing with teenagers…

I’ve braced myself for this time…

But more importantly than preparing to raise BIG little people, I have been focusing more on the legacy I will leave them with…

In the event of my demise, I want my children to know my life was one of PURPOSE. I am definitely a parent whose MAIN influence is my children. I am motivated by their curiosity… their intelligence… their giggles. Although I do not feel I know my purpose just yet, I know some words I have written within this 27 year period will touch them…

Motivate them…

Inspire them…

Bring a smile to their face…

If they googled my name they wouldn’t find ANYTHING I am ashamed of… No drunken photos, no explicit images, no mug shots… and I am proud of that.

 

Untitled

^^^^^ See? 🙂

I never want to be a source of embarrassment for my children… even though they are required to kiss me in public until they are 18. No questions asked.

I want my legacy to be one they can be proud of…

I am chasing my goals and one by one I am achieving them.

If they learn nothing else from me, I want them to learn that they can ACCOMPLISH ANYTHING and that they do not have to follow the crowd EVER.

I want my footprints to lead them to church and not to the club…

I want the words I say to be a reflection of the life I lead and not a “Do as I say and not as I do” mentality…

I want to inspire my son to be a man…

and my daughter to be a LADY.

I want them to make me proud and so I make decisions which will ultimately make them proud of me as well…

I want to be a POSITIVE example for them…

What legacy are you leaving behind???

Leave a Reply

