Kinky Curly, USA

I am soooooooo in love with my hair… buuuut I LOOOOOOOOVE my daughter’s hair more. Probably because its longer… we’re actually competing right now. LOL She knows that she is winning but I keep reminding her that just a few months ago I was bald… Im catching up LOL

I especially love that we are both learning to love and embrace our natural hair at the same time. My daughter used to be ashamed to wear her hair out… because none of the other kids around her looked the same. They either had relaxers since they were 3 (smdh) or they get it braided or straightened on the regular. Quite frankly, my husband just started to embrace the reality that our daughter doesnt need braids, beads, and a flat iron to look well put together. Im so happy that they both have opened their eyes.

3-day-old Twist Out♥

 

One thing I am forever grateful for is the show “Reed Between The Lines”. My daughter sees those 3 beautiful women that look JUST LIKE HER and she looooooves it. Seeing the little girl wear her hair in the different styles, with the different flowers and other hair accessories just drives her bananas! Aside from the show being such an amazing sitcom imparting lessons about the importance of money, telling the truth, having forgiveness, and other IMPORTANT lessons our children (and adults) should learn, it is showing her how to EMBRACE WHO SHE IS. She doesnt have to look to the popular stereotype of how her hair should be… she sees them and she loves it♥ Its great to see a BLACK show which embraces natural beauty, focuses on healthy marriages and strong families ((blended or otherwise)). I ♥ this show!

untitled

 Back to regularly scheduled programming…

My daughter and I have been perusing the different natural hair YouTube channels trying to find inspiration for our next hair obstacles ‘dos. She insisted on a mohawk this go ’round… so I watched a few videos and came up with this♥ Hope you all love it as much as we do!

2 thoughts on “Kinky Curly, USA

Leave a Reply

