The Cost of Following Jesus♥

I never felt like an alcoholic until I decided to stop drinking…

Its crazy because I only drink socially. I never was the type of person to buy a bottle to sit at home and drink myself into a stupor. In fact, I never even drink to get drunk. I love the tipsy feeling… so I consume juuuust enough to get a lil tingly… and come home to take advantage of the hubby. lol Seriously though, you never realize how badly you want something until you make the decision to eliminate it from your life. From time to time I can taste the margarita on my tongue… while drinking fruit punch. smh BUT Im determined to leave alcohol in my past so fruit punch will just have to suffice. Eventually, the temptation wont be there. Come ooooon eventually and get here already!

Im at the point in my life where I have decided to follow Jesus. With this decision comes many obstacles… and Im reminded of Bishop Curry’s sermon yeysterday. I have to be COMMITTED to my decision. Luke 9:57- 62 explains the cost of following Jesus. It reads:

57. As they were waling along the road, a man said to him, “I will follow you whereever you go”

58. Jesus replied, “Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head

59. He said to another man, “Follow me.” But the man replied, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father”

60. Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and proclaim the kingdom of God

61. Still another said, “I will follow you, Lord but first let me go back and say goodbye to my family.”

62. Jesus replied, “NO ONE WHO PUTS HIS HAND TO THE PLOW AND LOOKS BACK IS FIT FOR SERVICE IN THE KINGDOM OF GOD“.

This scripture is a perfect example of the way we all are when it comes to following God… we put it off for another time, we make excuses for why we cant go at this very moment… there is ALWAYS something else to do. A famous saying says “Why put off for tomorrow what you can accomplish today”. Tomorrow is NOT promised. It makes no sense to say I want one more “Girls Night Out” full of free margaritas and THEN I’ll commit to following God… because while Im waiting for Wednesday to roll around, I can die tonight in my sleep. I wasnt completely sure I would be able to stick with it until I heard Bishop Curry’s sermon yesterday… not until I read this particular scripture. Thats how I know it was meant for me to be at New Birth yesterday… that message was just for me. No more looking back. Im moving forward.♥

I dont expect to be the perfect Christian… but I expect to be Christ-like. Jesus is the ONLY person who lived a life without sin… but He is also the ONLY person who can help you on your walk with Him. While we are so heavily focused on people… not being alone, wanting friends, not wanting to rock the boat of the “norm”… we fail to realize that everything begins and ends with God. We are never alone. He is ALWAYS with us… through every heartbreak, every disappointment, every triumph, every failure… God is right there. He reminds us over and over and over again in the Bible that He will NEVER leave or forsake us (Hebrews 13:5) so why wont we put our all into Him? It is proven that man will let you down. People make promises and break them all the time. I admit… Im even guilty of doing so. BUT God is not a man that He should lie. Everything He says is true. I believe that. I know that if He says He will supply my every need that I dont have to stress and lose sleep about how the bills will be paid, how the kids will eat, how Im going to get to work. I know that God will make a way… because He always has. In 25 years of my life I cannot remember a single time that God didnt protect me. Even while being raised by a drug addicted mother… even while eating raw onion and ketchup sandwiches… even as man after man after man came into our homes to get high… I was never raped. I was never starved. I was nver harmed in any way,shape, or form. God protected my siblings and I and it was nothing that we did to persuade Him to do so. He did it because He is mighty and just and able. He did it because He is GOD.

Ive weighed the cost… and there isnt much I have to give up. BUT anything I must eliminate is worth an eternity in heaven. ANY person I must rid myself of is worth an eternity in heaven. There is no need to say goodbye… no need to go back to bury the dead… only a need to move forward and do His will♥

I encourage you to do the same… be encouraged. ♥♥♥

4 thoughts on “The Cost of Following Jesus♥

Leave a Reply

