Reverb10: Day 3 & 4

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

This was a doozey. One moment I felt most alive… was…in Georgia. Despite the family fuckery foolishness that went on, service at New Birth in Lithonia,Ga with Bishop Eddie Long was life-changing. I felt the presence of God in the sanctuary each time I came and I loved it. It is nearly impossible to leave the service the very same way you came in. I felt most alive because I could feel the spirit of God moving within me. It wasnt just one thing that made me feel most alive… it was a combination of everything: the warmth of the church members and their hugs and greetings, the sound of the music playing before service began, the voices of those at the altar praying and praising God in their own space, the purposeful manner in which each member in attendance worshipped God without hesitation or skepticism, the joyful noise emitted from the choir and congregation.

I still remember the Sunday they song “Blessed”. It was one of the ONLY times (in 7 years) I saw my husband truly get into service and sing unabashedly. He joined ALL of the men in the sanctuary, down at the altar as they praised God in unison and vowed to be the men God intended them to be: head of household, powerful, respectful, loving. I cant forget that same service when a member was called out by Bishop Long unexpectedly. He gave the MOST POWERFUL and MOVING testimony I have ever heard in my life. I was raised in the church so I have heard many, many,many,many,many testimonies and none compared to his. It bought me to tears and truly opened my eyes to the manner in which God works and the magnitude of His works. You can watch the video from that wonderful service,below or  here on YouTube.

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

The only thing of “wonder” I did this year was relocating to Georgia. We were practically tourists. It was great going to the different Atlanta attractions and exploring our new home. Centennial Park was a favorite… the kids were able to splash around in the fountains with the other children on one of the hottest days ever (they were confused as hell at first, but they ended up having a blast) AND we got to celebrate 4th of July with a gazillion lot of other people.  We also explored Atlantic Station… a sort of outside mall. H+M is the best store EVER! Hopefully in 2011, there will be much more wonder than this year. ♥

Centinneal Park♥
4th of July♥
Atlantic Station

 

2 thoughts on “Reverb10: Day 3 & 4

    1. Yes… it was truly a memorable and touching moment of my life. I am certain EVERY member of the congregation was in tears ((aside from my children lol)). God showed up that day and showed OUT in a major way.

Leave a Reply

